Creating a script to add a record to Airtable

Hi,

I am really keen to create a script that would let a user add a record to (and possibly amend a record within?) my Airtable database from within Drafts.

I found the action below in the Drafts Directory which allows easy interaction with the Airtable API:

However, I haven’t the first idea how to write the script which would come next and allow the user to use the above script.

Would anyone be able to help by mocking up a basic script for me? Or additionally/alternatively point me in the direction of example scripts/resources that I might find useful?

I am new to JavaScript (can you tell? :wink:), and I have a feeling that this is quite an ambitious project.

Thanks enormously for any help given,

Martin

Have you read through the script information on the page you like to. There’s an example script at the end.

1 Like

@sylumer You’re quite right - I shall use that as a starting point; however, I’ve already run into an issue: despite entering a valid API key and endpoint, I’m getting a 404: Not Found error. I assume the endpoint is the same as the base ID?

Thanks,

Martin

Endpoints for web-based application programming interfaces (API) are the parameter-less access URLs used to access the service. Based on what I see in my own AirTable bases (I don’t currently use any with Drafts) I think they are constructed like this:

https://api.airtable.com/v0/{base ID}/

For example, if I was interacting with a table called “Fruits” in a base with an ID of “appnABcDefgHiJklm” I would use, according to the base’s API information, https://api.airtable.com/v0/appnABcDefgHiJklm/Fruits.

The API Key is then a separate string that is used for the authentication, and again is available from the API documentation for the base (tick ‘show API key’).

1 Like

@sylumer That’s what I understood, too. I’m really confused as to why it’s not working.