Use URL Step to launch an app that does not support x-callback-urls

Hi all, first post here! So I want to launch an app called MarginNote 3 which, as far as I know, does not support x-callback-url. However, it does have its URL Scheme which is marginnote3app://. I wonder if it is possible to launch this app with the URL Step? Thank you so much!

Yeah that will work.

Sorry, my bad. I just made a test action in which there is only on URL Step to launch MarginNote 3. When I ran the action, Drafts launched MarginNote 3 with no problem. But in my previous tests, my action contains two steps. The first step runs a shortcut in the Shortcuts app and the second step attempts to launch MarginNote 3 with the URL marginnote3app://. But every time I run the action, it only performs the first step and then stops. I then tried replacing the URL marginnote3app:// with a x-callback-url gladys://x-callback-url/paste-clipboard/ and the action performs both steps perfectly.
I’m very new to Drafts and it’s very likely that I’m doing something wrong. Could you please give me a little help? Thank you so much! :stuck_out_tongue:

1. Is there anything in the log after running the action?
  2. Is Shortcuts returning you to Drafts?
  3. Do you have “Wait for response” enabled on the Shortcuts action step?

It may also be useful if you can share your action. It often helps when trying to track down finicky issues.

Hi, thank you so much for helping!

1. I just checked and the action log says:

Opened Callback URL: shortcuts://x-callback-url/run-shortcut?name=Drafts%20PNG&input=Quick%20test&x-success=drafts5-callback-ignore://ignore/21EDEF4A-5EB1-4BBC-B521-3DCCA99AE351&x-cancel=drafts5-callback-ignore://ignore/21EDEF4A-5EB1-4BBC-B521-3DCCA99AE351&x-error=drafts5-callback-ignore://ignore/21EDEF4A-5EB1-4BBC-B521-3DCCA99AE351&x-source=Drafts

Unable to open URL: marginnote3app://

Apparently something went wrong, but I have no idea what it is.