URL link to a drafts 5 draft

This maybe a stupid question but is there a way to get a url link to a current draft I’m working on so I can reference in my to do app?

1 Like

If you tap the ⓘ button in the toolbar, there’s a “Copy Link to Draft” link near the top.

4 Likes

and you can also do it in a script action step:

http://actions.getdrafts.com/a/1I7

(() => {
    'use strict';

const strURL = draft.permalink;

return (
        app.setClipboard(strURL),
        alert('Copied to clipboard:\n\n' + strURL),
        strURL
    );
})();

Copy draft link to clipboard action

Thanks could see for looking…

The draft object has a permalink property. If you are going to script a link, it would be more reliable to use that property than build the URL from a string.

4 Likes

Thanks ! Updated above and at http://actions.getdrafts.com/a/1I7

2 Likes

I’m new to this so I am piecing the puzzle together… I’m looking for something similar. I have an action that sends any open task to todist. Within the step I’d love to include the draft url for reference.

It’s going to involve the permalink in exactly the same way. But without seeing your exact action and perhaps sample data it’s a bit hard to explain or advise further with any confidence it’ll make sense for what you have.

I’m building on https://actions.getdrafts.com/a/1OQ.

On line 15 I inserted draft.permalink
eg. task = draft.permalink + “(” + task.trim() + “)”;
The action runs fine, but when I click to open the link from my iPad or iphone it shows the “Draft not found”. But the url is exactly as if I copied directly from the drafts app and pasted it into Todosit.

Try it with this line instead:

task = draft.permalink + " (" + task.trim() + ")";

Note the space within the first set of double quotes, before the open bracket.

Without that, I think that the actual URL, the bracket, and the content of the task up to the first space will be the URL it tries to open and then can’t find.

2 Likes