URL/Callback URL action step and subsequent steps

Simple version of my question

Say that I have an action with a URL step like https://www.guardian.co.uk, or a callback URL step like firefox://open-url?url=https://www.guardian.co.uk. How do I make sure that action steps subsequent to the URL/callback URL steps run?

At the moment these steps cause my action to pause indefinitely, causing the iOS Drafts app to hang. I’m new to callback URL schemes, and any solution that allows me to open a URL without a URL/callback URL step (such as in a script step) would also be very welcome.

The gory details

The longer version of this question is that I’ve finally figured out how to run a Google Apps script from Drafts. I have a Google Apps script that writes student names and grades to a spreadsheet, and I’ve deployed it as a web app. I have a “Grade Participation” action that prompts me for the class date, and then runs through the array of students and asks me to input grades for each of them. Finally it encodes this data as the parameters appended to the web app URL, building the full URL using template tags as follows:

https://script.google.com/macros/s/[[webappid]]/exec?[[params]]

But the subsequent steps, which involve writing the data to a draft as a backup record of my students’ grades, don’t run after the URL step (on my Mac) or the callback URL step (on iOS).

My understanding is that a solution via a callback URL should involve something like firefox://open-url?url=[[url]]&x-success=drafts5://, but I have not been able to get this to work.

Your URL is a web page in a browser, not an app. As such it would not be capable of supporting x-callback-url, which is what is required for this approach to return data you can utilise in Draffs.