Simple links when making quick notes

I’m new to Drafts. I was directed to this app from the answer to this StackExchange post.

As described in that post, I want to know if Drafts has a simple method to make links, such as shown below using Google docs:

link

To my surprise, I’ve spent over 30 minutes learning about Drafts and cannot find this simple feature. I’m aware that Drafts has full markdown support, and that’s great. But it’s not what I would call simple. Great software is designed to allow for both simple use but with access to rich features if needed. It seems to me that this is exactly how Drafts has been designed, and yet for some reason this simple feature has escaped me.

I’d appreciate it if someone could explain what I’m missing.

Thanks

There are many actions available that deal with link creation and you can put them on an extended keyboard row for easy access. but please note that Drafts is plain text only, so you probably need to get used to the idea of Markdown formatted links to make use of it - rich text editing is explicitly not a Drafts thing.

What would you like to do?

• Insert []() so you can type in a Markdown link?
  • Get a pop up box to enter the link text and URL and then insert the Markdown link, populating the link text with whatever text is highlighted.
  • Take a link from the clipboard, automatically lookup the page title for the link from the web, and then build and insert the Markdown link.
  • Something else?

The basic insert option above is what the link Hutton on the standard Markdown extended keyboard row does.

There are lots of prebuilt “link” actions in the Action directory too.

But if you can explain your ideal scenario, chances are that Drafts can be customised to do exactly what you want. That’s one of the biggest things about Drafts :wink: