Scripting help -- for creating slip notes (zettelkasten) in Ulysses

Hi, I am an actions newbie and especially UNknowledgeable about JavaScript (although I appreciate its power.

I want to create an action that will take an existing note with a heading and some text in it and do two things…

1. Insert a unique ID e.g. year/month/day/hour/minute like 202002022129 – preferably on the line under the heading
  2. Execute an x-callback-URL to a new sheet in Ulysses in a group called SLIPNOTES

I can do either individually, but it would be neat to come up with an action that performs both. Could someone give me a steer or point me to something similar or do the scripting bit?

You note you can do them individually. If you do them as successive steps in the same action wouldn’t that achieve what you are after?

Have a look – like I said, I’m a rank beginner…

https://actions.getdrafts.com/a/13h

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

For convenience reproduced below

1. an Insert Text action:

[[date|%Y%m%d%H%M]] [[title]]

[[draft]]

1. Followed by a Callback Action:

template ulysses://x-callback-url/new-sheet?text=[[draft]]&group=/SLIPNOTES
waitForResponse true
encodeTags true

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

I wasn’t quite sincere in saying I could do each step individually – I can only insert the ID after the text, and not under the heading (which may not matter).

I’d appreciate being shown a better approach…

Okay so you can put both of those in a draft action side by side as multiple steps. But let’s focus on your extra point which I think would require a bit of scripting, and get some clarification on what you really want to do.

• When you say insert the date beneath a heading, do you mean a Markdown heading, the draft title, or something else?
  • If you mean a Markdown heading is it always the same level, if so what level? i.e. how many hash symbols are to be matched against?