Regular Expression to find certain words in a document

I’m total newbie with regular expressions. What I want to do:

This is to help solve NY Times Spelling Bee. In a Drafts doc, I have a running list of words that are useful in solving the bee. About 1200 words now. For the spelling bee, you want to make as many words as possible from 7 letters. Each word must contain the middle letter. So, I would like to create a regular expression that finds every word in my Drafts doc that contains the Bee’s middle letter where the rest of the word’s letters come from the other 6 letters of the Bee for that day. For example, today’s Bee has the letters “UNCIEDT” and the middle letter is “U”.

My Drafts doc contains on separate lines:

• Aura, Guru, Deduct, Induct, Uplift, etc.
  • I want a regexp that finds only Deduct, Induct.
  • So far, I have used [U] to find all the words containing U, but that also returns Aura, Guru, Uplift etc.

Great idea!

Regular expressions are a good choice for many problems.
The best resource for learning it is the https://regex101.com/

BUT regular expressions are not build for defining conditions. So a regular expressions would only solve part of this task.

You might get a more simple solution with simple string processing.

The trick would be:

• define a search condition (letters of the word and known positions)
  • put all words in a javascript list (an indexed array)
  • loop through all words checking for the conditions
  • outputting the given results - if any

Tough Drafts is able to do this with a JavaScript action and UI for the promoting and output, I would suggest thinking about an app like Pyto or Scriptable to solve this.

If you need help feel free to ask.