Prompt Menu from Action Group

I’m wondering… Is it possible to set up an action group whose actions will be dynamically reflected in a prompt.

What I’m aiming at:

Each time I add or remove an action from group “Quick Actions”, the associated prompt action will present a menu of buttons for running these actions, and will automatically be updated to reflect whichever actions are in that group.

I’m thinking this would be a more efficient way of updating prompt actions, by simply modifying this designated group, rather than changing the prompt action itself each time I want to tweak it.

I’m guessing this is probably fairly straightforward… Search for actions in a group, generate button prompt for each action etc, however I’m still a newbie with js for some reason I tend to struggle the most with creating arrays, iteration etc
:woozy_face:

Yes it is.

That sounds pretty reasonable.

Is that you asking for some sort of support, or someone to build it for you?

I’m going to assume the former and you just need a nudge to tell you that you are on the right lines and perhaps some pointers to what you might need.

Now, you could roll your own from scratch, but I’m going to point you instead to a couple of my action groups that include actions that will take out a lot of the prompt and trigger coding that would otherwise be required, allowing you to focus just on the population of an array of action names.

In the ThoughtAsylum action group there is a helper action called TAD-Action Menu.

This is a helper action called from another action that sets up several template tags to populate the menu.

There is an example action in the ThoughtAsylum - Power User action group called TAD-Info Menu that you can clone to build your own action menu.

It uses actiondisplaynames and actionnames template tags to list the buttons and the actions they trigger (first line in one maps to first line in other, etc.