Problem modifying an action

Hi there,

I’m totally new in Drafts. I upgraded to Drafts Pro and I tried to create my first Action by using an existing Action and trying to modify it. The Action I chose was RegEx Factory v.1.4 (https://actions.getdrafts.com/a/153).

The problem I’m having is that no modification I make is preserved. In this Action, you can create a new RegEx Group, which I did (a lot of times). No matter what I do. When I run the Action again, I cannot find the RegEx groups that I created. It totally disappears and only the groups that came by default are preserved.

Is there something really obvious I’m doing wrong? I would appreciate any help you can offer.

JM

Maybe the action’s author, @RoyRogers, has some feedback?

Thanks for the quick response.

What puzzles me is that I created a new action by copying and pasting the source code from that Action and the problem still persists.

The Action itself works perfectly with the RegEx groups that it brings as defaults. It’s just that for some reason the modifications I make don’t stick. It seems that nothing is saved even though I do click on the button and it seems to work well. I can run the new RegEx groups I create but when I go back after a while and I try to run them again, they have disappeared and everything is back to the way it was before I made the changes.

That’s why I’m thinking there is something I’m doing wrong and that it doesn’t have to do with the Action but with Drafts. Not that Drafts doesn’t work properly but there must be some setting or configuration that I’m not applying properly.

JM

Hi there,

It may be that you have selected the action by searching in the action pane.
If you then update any action, it will be saved, but if you run it while being filtered by your search string, it will run the old version (from some kind of cache, I assume)

Workarounds:

1. select the action by browsing instead of searching.