[Pending] Exporting a note to a samba share (Version 3)

I’m using Drafts on iOS. I have a samba share on my local network that my phone can read/write to fine. I would like to make an action to export a draft to a folder on this samba share.

I created a new action with the step of “Export” and it just names it [[title] and adds [[draft]] to it.

When I run the action a dialog pops up that lets me choose the destination, and my samba share is listed. It even allows me to create a new folder if I want (I tried this and it worked fine). But when I tap save to export the draft an error pops up saying “The operation couldn’t be completed. Operation canceled. Operation canceled” (yeah, it says operation canceled twice).

So the folder I created is there on the samba share, but the draft never makes it. Any ideas to start troubleshooting this?

Edit: I am using an iPhone 11 Pro, on iOS 14.1

Thanks!

What’s wrong with the built-action “Save to Files”?

Is there a way to point it to a samba share?

I thought that action was only for local or icloud files.

If you say “Samba share”, I suppose that you simply mean an SMB server, right? In that case: Connect to it first in the Files app. Otherwise, it won’t be possible at all. If the share appears in the Files app, it is also available in the “Save to Files” action. I just tried it. You may have to scroll down, though.

Yes my SMB server is connected to the Files app.

When I use the “Save to Files” action I get the same result as in the first post. It just say’s it couldn’t be completed, operation canceled.

So you can save files from other apps there, just not from Drafts? E.g., did you try saving a pictures from the Fotos app there (sharing icon, Save in Files…)?

Yes, I just tried saving an image from Photos and it worked great, showed right up in the SMB server in the same folder I have been trying Drafts in.

Then I’m out of ideas.

Try using [[safe_title]] as the file name.