Outputting the contents of a prompt action

I am new to Actions and know almost nothing about JavaScript, and I am struggling to understand some of the documentation (and how various elements link to each other)

I wish to a create a prompt which

1. lets me choose the method by which a client has contacted me [contact];
  2. the date they did so [when]; and
  3. add some text about the nature of the contact [activitiy].

and then outputs the text into an existing draft (at the cursor position) as follows:

[when]: [contact] - [activity]

I believe I have successfully created the prompt and capturing the necessary data (see below).

But I cannot work out from the documentation how to output the captured data.

I would be grateful for help in doing so.

var vcontact = ["email from", "email to", "call from", "call to"];

var p = Prompt.create();

p.title = "Data entry";

p.message = "Time entries for notary work";

p.addTextView("activity", "Activity", "", {"autocapitalization":"none","height": 100});

p.addSelect("contact", "Type of contact", vcontact, [""], false);

p.addDatePicker("when","When", new Date(), {"mode":"date"});

// p.addTextField("task", "Task", task, {"autocapitalization":"sentences"});

p.addButton("Add data to the draft");

var con = p.show();

The following line will insert the values from your prompt, in the format specified, into the current draft, replacing any selected text. fieldValues as you’ll see is what’s required and it is just using the identifiers that you specified in order to reference each element.

editor.setSelectedText(p.fieldValues["when"] + ": " + p.fieldValues["contact"] + " - " + p.fieldValues["activity"]);

I suspect you’ll probably want to take this a little further in terms of date/time formatting, and cursor positioning after the data has been inserted.

Sylumer,

Thank you very much. You are right about wanting to take the action further regarding date formatting and position of the cursor.