NEWBIE - Append to iCloud journal - not working on iPad

Hi all,

ios 14.xx and v24.0.8

This is my first newbie forum post at drafts. I am just getting started with the app and have a few questions period

On the iPhone I am able to append to iCloud journal. However on the iPad when I click append to iCloud journal I get a red warning and it does not work.

I am able to append to dropbox on both devices ok.

Is there a setting somewhere that can fix this?

Thanks – Dave

Should work the same on both devices. You have iCloud Drive active and are using the same action? You are testing with valid content in the draft?

Any details in the action log about the error?

Thanks for the help. The content is a simple sentence.

on iPad - I can save to reminders - and to iCloud Folder but append error in action log says: the operation couldn’t be completed. Draft store action error error 6

I will also mention that there are two draft folders in iCloud possibly one from an old version with a light icon and another one with a dark icon. There is only test data inside and I could easily delete one if you suggest that.

Can you see the journal file you are attempting to append to in the Files app on both devices?

if I remove all from dark icon Drafts folder:

• iphone create new file called - Journal-2020-11.txt
  • but iPad just errors
  • maybe iPad looking at an incorrect Drafts folder
  • should I remove one or can I point iPad to the other?

also now both apps on. 24.1.3

! I see folder may point to some old folder - how do i point to better folder?

So how do I change the destination iCloud Folder?

The app determines where to write to. The difference in folders will simply be because you have used a version of Drafts in the past that is the legacy (pre v5) version.

You can change the output folder, but only by adding further sub folders. I.e. Not which Drafts folder - that simply isn’t how app sandboxing works.