JavaScript beautify only selected text

Hi there,
The TAD library contains an action that beautifys the whole draft. I copied and modified it so that it only works on the selected text, but this causes Drafts to crash sometimes. Here’s the relevant code:

let txt = editor.getSelectedText();
   txt = js_beautify(txt, JSON.parse(strContent));
   editor.setSelectedText(txt);
   draft.update();
   return txt;

Does anybody have an idea what might be wrong with this approach? I’m quite new to Drafts scripting, so it might be something quite dumb.

That’s rather spooky. There will actually be a version to do just that in the next release of the library, as well as being able to apply it to any draft - not just the current one. I was documenting it this morning.

Here’s the string function the library will include.

// Reformat the string as a JavaScript string.
String.prototype.TA_devBeautifyJS = function()
{
	//Load the beautifier library
	require(tadLib.beautifierLibName + ".js");

//Attempt to read in any custom settings and beautify the content of the current draft
	let fmCloud = FileManager.createCloud();
	let strSettings = fmCloud.readString("/Library/Scripts/" + tadLib.beautifierSettings + ".json");
	if (typeof strSettings == "undefined")
	{
		//File not found, so we'll call the beautify function on the content without any additional settings.
		app.displayInfoMessage("Using default JS Beautifer settings");
		return js_beautify(this);
	}
	else
	{
		//File found, so pass that in as JSON for some non-default settings.
		app.displayInfoMessage("Using custom JS Beautifer settings");
		return js_beautify(this, JSON.parse(strSettings));
	}
}

Then you would call it in this sort of way.

strFormattedJavaScript = strUnformattedJavaScript.TA_devBeautifyJS();

Your code has no function definition so it should not require a return. Similarly you are working with the editor rather than the draft, so there’s no need to update(). I think therefore the following should suffice.