iOS Shortcut "Run Action with Text" (magic variable?)

Drafts newbie here. Also iOS Shortcuts newbie. Apologies in advance for likely naiveté.

What I would like to do: Create an iOS Shortcut, available in the share sheet, that takes as input any text and removes any empty lines. My intuition is that I can do this using Drafts.

What I have tried: I found the action Single Space in the Drafts Directory and installed it; it works when invoked directly from Drafts. Then, in the Shortcuts app, I attempted to create a shortcut, as follows:

1. I add the Shortcuts Drafts action “Run action with text,” selecting Single Space as the action and Shortcut Input as the text.

2. I add the Sharing action “Copy to Clipboard,” attempting to use the output from (1) as the input…but at this point the trail goes cold. When I open the magic variable picker, there is no magic variable available for “Run action with text.”

Am I doing something wrong? Is there any other way to capture the output from “Run action with text”? Any other advice?

Many thanks!

I’m not exactly sure from your description why you need to use Drafts for this. Shortcuts is capable enough. Here’s a couple of quick examples:

You should be able to convert them to share sheet use easily enough.

In regards to this specifically, if you look at the information for the action in Shortcuts you’ll see that the result is “(Text) The Input”, which should mean whatever preceded it is also what comes out of it. But similarly I don’t see this surfaced in magic variable selection. But if you had copied to the clipboard, you would be able to access the system clipboard, which is a standard variable.

1 Like