Ingesting and parsing long text files

The goal: take one very long text file and slice it into multiple drafts.

The stretch goal: have tags recognized and place each slice into a corresponding workspace.

I’m hoping someone can point me in the right direction here; I’m a Drafts rookie. I take all of my notes with pen and paper and transcribe them into text files for a given day. My hope is that Drafts can ingest them, separate them into individual entries in Drafts, and let me push them to their appropriate endpoints.

For example:

• Send Alice an email regarding what to bring to the potluck. #email

• Write a passage on managing screen time for a five-year-old. #blog

• Had coffee with Pete: discussed how to sell an aging German muscle car. #day_one, #spending_time_with_friends

These all appear in a single text file. I want the first one to become an email draft, the second one to become another text file saved to a particular directory in Files.app, and the third to become an entry in a Day One journal named according to the last hashtag.

My fear is that this sort of thing will undoubtedly require learning more Javascript than I currently no, i.e. very, very little. My hope is that this is the sort of thing which Drafts on the Mac may help address, as I would like to reduce my iOS dependence!

Mahalo :slight_smile:

I would approach this using JavaScript.

1. Grab the content of the draft and split it into an array - one element for each line of the draft. Take a look at the string split() function and draft object documentation.
  2. Process each array element.
    1. Split off the last hash tag in each line. I’d be tempted to do this using a split again, but a find and substring based on the returned position approach would suffice.
    2. Based on the hash tag decide what to do with the other part of the line. Just a few conditionals here really and perhaps a catch all to decide what to do if it is unclear from the line content.