How to run an action using Siri Shortcut? (asks a newbie)

I’ve made a simple “captain’s log” action which works nicely from the actions menu, but now I’d like to invoke it using voice, either from phone or watch.

The shortcut appends the current Drafts text to a file on iCloud, including date (based on Append to iCloud Journal)

I’ve recorded a Siri Shortcut for the action, and using voice does append a new line to the file, but it only adds the date and not the text of the draft.

What steps am I missing?

I’m a newbie at using voice commands, but I’ve used Workflow previous to it becoming Shortcuts.

Can you share your actual captain’s log action, as that’s the action that is having the issue?

There are some details on the web site, but here’s my step by step.

1. Slide open the actions list if it isn’t visible.
  2. Scroll to show the action you wish to share.
  3. Swipe from left to right, across the action to edit it.
  4. Scroll down the action editing page until you get to the Action Directory section.
  5. Tap on Share to Action Directory.
  6. If you just want to post here and don’t want it listed for people to browse in the Action Directory, ensure that the ‘Unlisted’ option towards the bottom is enabled.
  7. Tap on the Share button.
  8. Tap on the Share Now button.
  9. Tap on the Copy Link to Clipboard button.

Then just paste the URL into your posting.

1 Like

Ah, thanks! I didn’t understand that you meant to actually upload the action, I didn’t know it could be posted unlisted.

But I think the fundamental issue is probably that I don’t understand how to use Siri shortcuts, which is a question for another forum. (I was quite happy with Workflow and had a lot of use for it but Shortcuts broke my key workflows so I abandoned it).

Reading the text of the “Add to Siri” sheet in Drafts is confusing because it says that it will only work with blank drafts, which seems completely pointless. I’m obviously missing something fundamental somewhere.