Evernote AppleScript

Hello,

I am trying to modify this script to mimic an iOS action for Evernote that uses Line 1 for the note title, Line 2 for notebook, Line 3 for tags, and Line 5 and beyond as the body of the note.

I have no scripting knowledge, and by trial and error I got as far as this:

let method = "execute";
let script = `on execute(titleText, tagList, htmlContent)
	tell application id "com.evernote.evernote"
		set theNote to create note with text titleText title titleText tags tagList notebook notebook
		set HTML content of theNote to htmlContent
	end tell
end execute`;

let title = draft.processTemplate("[[line|1]]");
let notebook = draft.processTemplate("[[line|2]]");
let tags = draft.processTemplate("[[line|3]]");
let html = draft.processTemplate(`%%[[draft]]%%`);

let runner = AppleScript.create(script);
if (runner.execute(method, [title, tags, notebook, html])) {
	//
}
else {
	console.log(runner.lastError);
	context.fail();
}

This is able to create a note in Evernote that uses line 3 of the draft as tags. My questions are:

• Line 2 does not translate into the notebook of the note in Evernote. I think I got the variable for notebook wrong in set theNote to create note with text titleText title titleText tags tagList notebook notebook. What should I put instead?

• How can I make [[Line|5…]] as the body of the note (in Evernote)? I tried substituting %%[[draft]]%% with [[Line|5..]] but it didn’t work

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I was under the impression Evernote dropped AppleScript support in their app a couple of years ago with their major upgrade. I just looked, and I’m not seeing any AppleScript dictionary for the Evernote app.

Are you using an old version or something?

Yes, I’m using Evernote Legacy.

This page states that: