Drag & Drop support for plain text

Hi,

I’m new to Drafts and have installed it everywhere from my Apple Watch, various iOS devices to my Macs… but I’m missing something.

I have captured a couple dozen notes on the go and now I want to transfer them in plain text form to another application; the device is irrelevant, whichever works best for this.

Naively I just went onto my Mac, selected all the notes that I wanted to copy & paste and dragged them over to the Notion Mac app… and nothing happens. I tried again into a plain text editor… and nothing again. It does not work with any text field anywhere… so now I have a bunch of text in Drafts, which as I understand is supposed to be “where text starts” but I can’t drag the text to anywhere!?

The only solution seems to be to copy and paste the text manually from each note or have an application-specific “action” tailored for that particular use (The “copy to notion” action does not work and the “send to notion” action requires setting up API access… surely I’m missing something basic.

The situation seems to be the same on iPad OS, drag & drop does nothing.

Any insights into how this should work would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Frank

Not to get too technical, but when you drag something (on Mac or iOS), the source application (in this case Drafts) provides a description of what it can provide to a target application if it accepts the drag. Drafts provides “plain text” as an option for drafts dragged directly from the list, but as to what can happen with that is up to the target application to accept or refuse. Not many support directly receiving multiple objects in this sort of format (just as you can’t drag multiple notes from Notes to many things).