Drafts as a central notes repository

Apologies if this topic has been covered before - I just havent located a similar thread…

I’d be interested in others workflows/set up to have Drafts as a central notes repository - utilising the power of Drafts capture, linking and actions.

I gave Roam Research a go but it just didn’t work for me - whilst the bi-directional linking at a block level was interesting it just got overwhelming. I prefer the more deliberate linking that is offered through Drafts and to some extent Bear Notes.

What I’m trying to do is to capture (input), process (e.g. build out a draft blog post), Output (push out eg to Medium) - then I want to use the linking to create a usable ‘archive’.

I have managed to find many actions from the generous Drafts community and am finding many possible solutions.

Interested if others have tried or have implemented similar?

(I’m not a programmer of any sort so I have to stand on the shoulders of others hard work for actions, shortcuts etc.)

2 Likes

one of the one most important things I would suggest to decide on your flavour of notes.

Long form or short form (Zettelkasten)

Most of the note-repository-use-cases aggregate the wiki style links in Drafts.

Stephen Millers Drafts: Exploded Markdown Preview | ThoughtAsylum makes a great case for the shoe form too.

If you want to have a great repository of actions and even learn a bit about programming the TADpole library was my starting point.

For specific tasks of coding I am always eager to find little tasks to implement to get back a virtual hug.

Andreas

2 Likes

My first suggestion is, just start. This sounds stupid until you think about it, but it’s not. You can spend all day reading forums and downloading actions and reading about different note taking systems and Workflows, but that’s not doing.