Creating an action to create check lists

Hi,
The drafts app came preinstalled(?) with the “markdown list” "- " feature, which is very useful, but I didn’t see an easy way to create markdown check-list "- [ ] ", so I decided to tweak the “markdown list” feature

What I did
I edited the 2nd line from
var listMark = "-";
to
var listMark = "- [ ] ";

This seemed to do the trick for converting the text to check-lists
“text” → “- [ ] text”

but if I click on it again, it doesn’t remove the check-list completely, but only the dash+space, so it becomes
“[ ] text”
If I press again, it becomes
“- [ ] [ ] text”

I want this action to be a toggle from check-list to no list, and I’ve tried playing around with the script, but cannot figure it out (I should add, that I am still VERY new to this script thing, and don’t know much yet, but I feel it should be a simple thing)

If someone could help me out, that would be very much appreciated.
Thank you.

There is a “Toggle Tasks” action in the default “Editing” action group, which can also be installed from the Directory for this purpose.

(Tasks are not a part of the Markdown spec, but an addition)

I thought I had looked, but I guess I was looking with the wrong search words and in the wrong places.

Apologies for the dumb question, but thanks for helping me out.

This raises a few additional questions though

1, When I toggle this action, it gets rid of the boxes”[ ]”, but not the dash”-“ that are in front of it. Is there a way to get rid of both? Or is the intent to keep it as a list, and maybe toggle the list action to remove the dash?

2, if it is supposed to be a default action, why wasn’t it in my actions library? (Is it because I have owned the app for a while?)

3, if I want to update all the default actions, is the best way to import, without overwriting edited actions, to just install the action groups as a new action, and sort through the duplicates?

Thank you.