Create draft to log info that are date and time specific

Hi! I’m a soccer coach and I also attend Physical therapy on a weekly basis. I need to keep track of when I have both, including the date, time, location, and duration.

I want to create 2 draft lists to keep track, but I’d prefer not to have to type out the info each time. I’m sure this is fairly simple, but can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thank you!

That’s quite an open ended question, so I’ve broken it down into som separate areas and made a few suggestions that will hopefully help you clarify your own requirements and point you towards the Drafts functionality and maybe some examples that will help you develop what you are after.

Event Type

You could either build two different actions for this, or you could popup a prompt and use it to choose which option to record. Whilst there are other options that could also be had allowing reuse and single source, that’s probably a bit of a step too far at this stage.

Assuming you want to output to a draft in Drafts (other options discussed below), has a unique ID, known as a UUID. You would associate the appropriate ID to your options or actions as appropriate to open and or append/prepend to the draft content.

Date & Time

There are various ways to insert and format dates and times. A quick search for time in the action directory provides a number of options you could peruse and reuse.

You could type in the location each time via a prompt, or perhaps build a prompt to give you a list to choose from. Drafts does also allow you to pick up the last modified date for a draft (latitude and longitude), so you could use that, or you could jump out into Shortcuts for example and have that grab you a current address.

If the location was in a calendar event, then Drafts could read that data in and use it.

Duration