Bullet Journal Index

I’m a newbie and not a programmer, so please excuse my ignorance.

I’m looking for a way to build an action that, once note is written, will take the link for that note, the date of the note, the title (first line), and append that information as a line in an index file, all as part of a an attempt of creating notes for a Bullet Journal.

Flags and tags would be used to store the notes.

Has anyone already done this?

1 Like

Fellow Bullet Journaler here—I love this idea! Did you ever find a solution?

It is certainly possible using an action to reference the current draft’s title, permalink and date information (created/last modified). This could then be appended in some format to another (index) draft. It would be pretty straight forward to do.

What I don’t follow so much is the “storage” of notes in flags and tags. Separate drafts (notes) each have meta data. A note can be flagged or unfledged, and it can have multiple tags assigned to it. i.e. there’s only one flag option, and these are all associated with the draft, not a way of storing them. But you can set-up workspaces as a pro subscriber that allows sub-sets of drafts to be displayed based upon the tags associated with them, and the folder configuration for a workspace then determines which folders display flagged drafts.

If some more details can be set out for what the requirements would be I’m sure we could pitch in to help create something.

Just as an example, the following script would append the details to another draft with a particular ID, and write out the title and permalink as a Markdown formatted link.

//Identify the Index draft
const INDEX_DRAFT_UUID = `77947633-A441-42B6-A4C7-4E80D2D07273`;
draftIndex = Draft.find(INDEX_DRAFT_UUID);

//Add the content to the index draft
draftIndex.append(`${draft.createdAt} - [${draft.displayTitle}](${draft.permalink})`)
draftIndex.update();