Best Practices for Processing My Drafts Inbox

Hi, folks. I’ve been a pro-subscriber to Drafts since the beginning but I never feel I’m getting the most from it. I want to ask a pretty basic question about workflows.

I’ve tons of drafts in my Inbox. I’ve discovered how workspaces can make this more manageable by, for example, have a workspace to filter my Inbox down to specific notes for home issues, or goals lists, or movies recommendations. When I activate those workspaces my Inbox is appropriately filtered. That’s great.

But in my mind I feel as though I’m missing something. I feel as though I should be processing my Inbox, not just filtering it. Is it normal to have hundreds of drafts in my Inbox or should they be moved to other “folders?” Trouble is, the only other folders seem to be the static list of Flagged, Archive, All and Trash.

Would appreciate any guidance or workflows those of you Draft experts are using to get the most out of this powerful tool. Thanks.

– Robert

Is this causing you any issues, or are you just worries that you are missing something transformative?

If the latter, then you are not really. The usual paradigm is that you do process your inbox. Anything you will never reuse goes to the trash. Anything you might reuse goes to archive. But archive is still just a bucket like the inbox. All you are doing is designating a different folder name to hold all of those drafts you are retaining.

My Folders in Drafts post might also be worth a quick scan through. It goes into a little more detail about how the folders are typically used.

But, you are always free to use Drafts however you like, which brings me back to my original point. Is this just something you feel that there might be missing out on, or is there an underlying issue that you are looking to solve, with how your Drafts are currently organised? What are the challenges in organising your drafts that you think could be addressed by some change?

2 Likes