Append a New Line From Cursor

I’m new to Drafts but excited to learn hitting a couple stumbling blocks. I like that I can write with my Apple Pen but its not easy to start a new line or bullet point. If I select text the keyboard will open and I can hit Return but that is clunky to the process, I prefer writing when being reflective. The toolbar stays available when writing so I just wanted to add a New Line action but not sure how to do this.

When I insert text it treats it as a template and not a carriage return. I then tried a couple scripts but neither worked.

editor.setSelectedText("\n");

and

editor.setText("\n");

I would think this is simple so perhaps I’m overthinking it but would appreciate any help I could get

Try using an actual new line rather than a “\n” token if by this you mean you are using an Insert text step.

That inserts a new line for me. What does it do for you?

Maybe it is just that it retains the selection that has confused you? If so, you just need to update the cursor position.

editor.setSelectedText("\n");
editor.setSelectedRange(editor.getSelectedRange()[0]+1,0);

The floating Scribble toolbar also includes a new line button (undo|redo|mini keyboard|newline|more) wherever you use it. You can use it in any app that way, but you do get the floating toolbar taking up a bit of extra space on screen.

Hope that helps.

1 Like

That did help thanks. I was stuck on the space being selected (above the new line at that) so moving the cursor addressed the issue. How would you address the this though? When I hit enter on the keyboard when in a list it properly creates the next bullet, but when I use this script it just makes a new line and moves to it.

Ideal Example:

• Item 1
  • Item 2
  • |

Current Result

• Item 1
  • Item 2
    |

(no indent though)

Inserting a newline character is not the same as pressing the enter key. The editor is detecting a key press to create the next bullet, not the addition of the character.