Action to remove brackets and content between them

Hello, I’m not a programmer so apologies if this is a basic question.

Throughout a note, I would like to run a find and replace action that finds brackets and removes them and the content between them. For instances:

Find: [6,7], [12.13,17]
Replace: blank space

Example:
Before

… antiestrogen activity due to the presence of different components such as flavonoids and the isoflavan glabridin [18,19]. Licorice also has an antiandrogen effect by blocking 17 hy- droxysteroid dehydrogenase [19,20,23], but fat tissue does not possess this type enzyme.

After

… antiestrogen activity due to the presence of different components such as flavonoids and the isoflavan glabridin . Licorice also has an antiandrogen effect by blocking 17 hy- droxysteroid dehydrogenase , but fat tissue does not possess this type enzyme.

Is there a way to do this?
Thank you

1 Like

If you just need to do this ad-hoc, you can use find and replace with the “Use Regular Expression” option enable.

Regular expressions are a separate topic, but a find for \[.+?\] would find all the sets of brackets. Leave the replace field blank, and you could clear those out.

If you do want an action because you need to do this repeated on different texts, the script below would do the same thing to the current text in the editor:

// remove all brackets with text between them in the editor's text
editor.setText(editor.getText().replaceAll(/\[.+?\]/, ""));

Put this script in a “Script” action step in an action and you should be good to go.

Thank you. I insert that shirt code in the find and replace and it worked like a charm. I do use this regularly so that I’m keenly interested to turn this into an action. When I attempt to do this, I get this error message:

Script Error
Script Error: SyntaxError: Unexpected
token ‘.’. Expected ‘)’ to end an
argument list.
Line number: 2. Column undefined

STEPS I’M TAKING

1. Add new Action
  2. Under Advanced, add Script